Smack Apparel

Basketball Hall of Fame Plans to Reduce Eligibility Wait Time, per Report

Icon Sportswire

The Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame is making changes to its election process that’ll reduce the wait time for eligibility by one year, according to NBA.com’s Scott Howard-Cooper. An official announcement on the matter is expected sometime this week.

With these new rules, Hall of Fame enshrinement will come after five calendar years instead of five NBA seasons. Because of this, the 2016 Hall of Fame Class could include Shaquille O’Neal, Allen Iverson and Yao Ming.

But as noted by Howard-Cooper, this may also have an adverse effect on the candidacies of players like Chris Webber, Tim Hardaway and Kevin Johnson.

Another major rule change is the dropping of the ABA committee after five years as a direct-elect category. Candidates with a strong background in the ABA will now be judged by the North American committee and will require two rounds of voting to get in.

The 2016 Hall of Fame Class will be enshrined next September.

Today's Fastbreak A Division Of FanRag Sports Strives To Provide You Quality, Professional Journalism Covering All The Latest Basketball News And Information. Our Writers Are Held To A Strict Code Of Conduct And Professionalism. Our Mission Is To Be Your Go-To For All Things Basketball. If You Love Basketball, Today's Fastbreak Has Something For You!

© 2013-2017 Nafstrops Media, LLC - All Rights Reserved.

To Top