Smack Apparel

2015 Hall of Fame Class Announced

The 2015 Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame class was announced on Monday morning, with six new members joining the five who were already announced during All-Star Weekend. Let’s take a quick look at all 11 members.

Dikembe Mutombo – Mutombo is an eight-time NBA All-Star and four-time Defensive Player of the Year. He led the NBA in blocks for five consecutive seasons, and he’s well known for his finger wagging taunt after a blocked shot.

Jo Jo White – White is a seven-time NBA All-Star and two-time NBA champion. He won 1976 NBA Finals MVP as a member of the Boston Celtics, and he also won a gold medal with the United States Olympic team in 1968.

Spencer Haywood – Haywood was teammates with White on the 1968 gold-medal team and was the team’s leading scorer. Haywood played in both the ABA and NBA, and he’s a four-time NBA All-Star and two-time All-NBA First Team member. He won a title with the Los Angeles Lakers in 1980.

Lisa Leslie – Leslie is one of the best players in WNBA history, going to eight All-Star Games and winning three MVP awards. She won two WNBA titles and four gold medals, and she’s the first player to dunk in WNBA history.

John Calipari – Calipari, the current head coach at Kentucky, is a three-time Naismith College Coach of the Year winner, as he just won the award for this year. He also won at UMass and Memphis. He won a national title at Kentucky in 2012 and has been to six Final Fours, although two of those appearances were vacated.

Dick Bavetta – Bavetta was an NBA official for 39 years before retiring after the 2013-14 season. He never missed a game and has the record for most consecutive games officiated with 2,635.

Tom Heinsohn – Heinsohn was elected as a player in 1986, but now he goes in as a coach, joining Bill Sharman, John Wooden and Lenny Wilkens as the only people to get elected as both a player and coach. Heinsohn coached the Celtics to two NBA titles and was NBA Coach of the Year in 1973.

Louis Dampier – Dampier played in the ABA for all nine years of its existence, going to the ABA All-Star Game seven times and winning one title. He played with the San Antonio Spurs after the ABA/NBA merger.

George Raveling – Raveling broke racial barriers by becoming the first black head coach in the ACC and Pac-8, which is now the Pac-12. He’s currently the Director of International Basketball for Nike.

John Isaacs – The late Isaacs played professionally in the 1930s and 40s and helped pioneer the motion offense.

Lindsay Gaze – Gaze has represented Australia in seven Olympics as both a player and coach. He’s a member of the Australian Basketball Hall of Fame and FIBA Hall of Fame.

Today's Fastbreak A Division Of FanRag Sports Strives To Provide You Quality, Professional Journalism Covering All The Latest Basketball News And Information. Our Writers Are Held To A Strict Code Of Conduct And Professionalism. Our Mission Is To Be Your Go-To For All Things Basketball. If You Love Basketball, Today's Fastbreak Has Something For You!

© 2013-2017 Nafstrops Media, LLC - All Rights Reserved.

To Top